What is a Hometown Hero?

Honoring our Hometown Heroes has been a tradition in our community since 1999. The Hometown Heroes are composed of residents, businesses/institutions, and non-profit organizations that serve as outstanding role models for volunteerism and dedication to The Woodlands community. Each year a new class is inducted into the Hometown Hero Hall of Fame. A Hometown Hero is chosen based on the following criteria.

  • Positive role model
  • History of volunteerism
  • Sacrificing personal gain to achieve noble goals
  • Special awards and recognition
  • Brought positive recognition to The Woodlands
  • Embodies the values of The Woodlands community i.e., family values, the importance of education, the arts and culture, environmental consciousness
  • Economic contributions to the community
  • Leadership and courage
  • Consistent dedication and commitment to worthy causes
  • Representative of the diversity within the community
  • Spiritual leadership
  • Dedication to public service
  • Must be a current resident of The Woodlands, or business/institutions based in The Woodlands

Hero Alumni


The Honorable Kevin Brady
Donald Braun
Reverend W. D. Broadway
Tom Cox
Joel Deretchin
Robert W. “Rob” Eissler
The Late Jack & Lorna Felton
Ann Friend
Roger Galatas
Reverend Don Gebert
Peggy Hausman
The Irons Family
(Gerald, Myrna, Gerald Jr., Jarrett & Grant)
Dr. Joel Kerschenbaum
Peter “Pete” Lampros
Dr. Jack Lesch
Millie Maglio
Julie Martineau
Mary Matteson Parrish
Jean “Candy” Pew
Leonard “Len” Schroeder
Walter “Corky” Shaw III
Coulson Tough
Christina West
Robert “Bob” Williams
Weldon Willig


William “Bill” Bootz

Leland Dushkin

David Gibbs

Nick DeSimone

Dr. Ann Snyder


Pat Brown

Karen Booren

Dan Green

Tim Holifield

Gail Van Zanten


William C. “Bill” Leigh

Lynda Scott Everett

Michael Richmond

Shelby Marie Robin

Mark Swick

Rosa Dye


Phillip Barker, II

Tom D. Boak, Jr.

Scott Frezza

CJ Haynes

Alan Struble


Nancy Battle

Sharon Leigh

George P. & Cynthia Mitchell

Bruce Tough

Senator Tommy Williams

Boni’s Dance & Performing Arts Studio

Memorial Hermann The Woodlands


Nelda Blair

Walter Cooke

Bev Earl

George Holtin

Kenny Speight

South Montgomery County

Woodlands Chamber of Commerce


Edie Connelly

Jeff Early

Dan Hauser

Lon Larsen

Bruce Withers

Woodforest National Bank


Dr. David Gottlieb

John Haynes

Robert “Bob” Kinnear

Dr. Edmund “Ed” Robb

Lone Star College – Montgomery


Ed Chance

Jacque Everson

Dr. Daniel T. Hannon

Barbara Holland

The Woodlands Development Company


Jude Compofelice

Heather Montgomery

Steve Sanders

Ted Washington

The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion


Barry Blanton

Greg and Linda Freede

George Lindahl

Karen West

Anadarko Petroleum Corporation


Jim Blair

Candi Glenn

Robert and Kim Marling

Lloyd Matthews

South Montgomery County YMCA


John Hennigan

Missy Herndon

Vicki Richmond

David Vogt

St. Luke’s The Woodlands Hospital


Keith Brumfield

Shelli Moran

Gil Staley

Susan Vreeland-Wendt



Dr. Austin Lane

Brenda Mizell

Jeff Shipley

Bret Strong

Huntsman Corporation

Dr. Vance LeCrone


Ally Seder

Linda Nelson

Lisa Koetting

Mario M. Coll, III

Waste Connections


Bruce Cunningham

Bob Hibbetts

Kelly Hull

Debbie Sukin



Rob Johnson

Amy Lecocq

Bob Milner

Melissa Young

Cassidy Joined for Hope

The Woodlands Christian Academy


Robert Heineman

Steve Leakey

Dr. Joel Reed

Patti Rivela

Mr. Peter Huntsman and Mrs. Brynn Ballard Huntsman

Entergy Texas, Inc.

Junior League of The Woodlands, Inc.